Skip to main content

Levels of Care

Medicare and many other insurance carriers provide four levels of hospice care, based on the patient’s medical status:

Routine Home Care

This is the most common form of hospice care, delivered in a patient’s home, skilled nursing facility or assisted living in partnership with family and other caregivers. The hospice benefit pays for care delivered by hospice staff, as well as, medicines, equipment, and supplies related to the terminal illness.

General Inpatient Care

This is short-term care delivered in Good Shepherd’s Inpatient Centers or the hospital when the patient’s medical needs are too complex to be managed in any other setting. Once symptoms are stabilized, patients are transferred back to their home or another routine home care setting.

Respite Care

This benefit provides ongoing care in a facility for up to 5 days to allow family caregivers a break.